New Mini14 problem - Shooting Sports Forum

Ruger Mini-14 and Mini-30 Ruger Mini-14 and Mini-30 family of rifles

Like Tree38Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2020, 22:53   #1

New Mini14 problem

Ok, so I shot my 583 mini 14 for the first time yesterday, and had some problems.
Iíll backtrack and say that I bought it a month ago, cleaned it etc. but noticed that when cycling the action, a lot of times the bolt had a tough time going into battery. A lot of times. This is my first Mini, so I thought maybe it was normal..
So yesterday, I started shooting Wolf Gold. 70 or so rounds.
I had numerous instances where the case would not eject. It ALWAYSgou stuck in the same place. ( the picture shows steel wolf, but it did it on the brass and steel the same.
Then twice, my damn bolt got stuck in battery. The first time, after 4 or 5 tries, I was able to cycle it to eject the live round. The last time took a dead blow hammer to free up.
Then lastly, twice, on the last round, the magazine follower took a dive. Iíve never in my life seen anything like it. Come to think about it, it coincided with the bolt being stuck forward.
Ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
New Mini14 problem-4c04790f-9a57-475a-bb0e-3a486411ce66.jpg   New Mini14 problem-4fc80f5c-c086-427b-9fce-d505b44a5bbb.jpg   New Mini14 problem-061e4989-326c-4d29-a56d-e6b8438248c9.jpg   New Mini14 problem-9fb1f0ed-f6ab-4fef-ae08-4a3136f216d6.jpg  
Jabski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 03:33   #2

I would say it is a mag issue not a gun issue. Put a good mag in it and see what happens.
PFerris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 04:50   #3
Formerly "raf"

Originally Posted by PFerris View Post
I would say it is a mag issue not a gun issue. Put a good mag in it and see what happens.
Make sure to try it with the mag(s) that came with your Mini.