• 3 Post By 32-20
  • 1 Post By coyotetracks
  • 1 Post By thumbs
  • 1 Post By Kevin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2017, 17:13   #1
Administrator

Older Marlin 336 better than new?

How is the quality of the newer marlin 336 compared to the older rifles?

A local pawn shop had an older Marlin 336 in stock. Serial put it at a 1976 production.

In all honesty, I have no experience with new Marlin 336 lever action rifles. My son has one that was bought for him around 2002. My brother and nephew all have a 336, but are several years old.

So, how do the new Marlin lever action rifles made under freedom group compare to the older rifles?
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 15:35   #2

Hit or miss I would say, but much better then when Freedom first purchased them. I purchased a new 1894 in 45 Colt over the Winter and it is pretty good. I speak with my friends regularly that work at the factory and the same thing keeps repeating in most things they say. Its "ship first, fix later". So if a bad batch of something gets into the parts bin, they tend to say ship versus the other. The line for Marlin has been retooled from the equipment that was brought over from Marlin. I was born in Ilion and have friends and relatives that live in the town so I interact regularly.
dh1633pm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 04:48   #3
large member

no expert here, but the rumblings were loud and angry when the first "remlins" came off the line. I think this was a bit of a "don't know what you got till its gone" story.

original marlins thus skyrocketed in price for the most part. the first remlin I laid hands on didn't even really look or feel quite like the originals did. recently, I looked them over and aesthetically, they appear to be back on par...but I can't vouch for their function.