Perfect Union banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
7,312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone out there use Windows 8? I installed version within a Xen Virtual Machine on my home laptop and found that I really really hated it. Sometimes there things you can only do in Windows. Removed it in favor of Win7. I am a tech person. My phone is rooted, Linux is my operating system of choice for work and home. I am well versed in Cisco. But I sure had a hard time with Windows 8. I even added "Classic Shell" and still didn't like it. I have a tablet but can't see it replacing my laptop anytime soon. Try typing fast on a tablet. So who hates Windows 8?

· Registered
36,430 Posts
I too hate it. In trying to make Windows "one operating system for all devices," Microsoft will annoy and infuriate their customers yet again. Desktop and notebook computers are not smart phones and tablets! One wonders whether Microsoft polled a real sampling of their customers to ask them how important it is for the operating system to be the same across the board. I can't imagine that matters nearly as much to the majority of users as it does to certain Microsoft techies chasing the latest trend.

I quit using anything from Microsoft years ago, unless required to for work.

· Registered
7,312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Free I unblocked you from this one. I figured we could talk about operating systems without getting into politics. I don't doubt your a good man, but we won't agree on most things.

I like Android and use it on a tablet and phone. The tablet I use for my work manuals and configuration guides. Nice to have something light that in past years would have been a very heavy briefcase. For laptop I run Win7 within Xen running on SuSE Linux. I have used other versions and Debian is the preferred at work, but they let us use what we want.