Perfect Union banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the BBS and have enjoyed reading all the posts. Lots of useful information! I just got my Mini 14 and have found out like everyone else that the accuracy at 100 yards is not the best. I plan to try several of the less expensive options for improving the accuracy. I need cheap modifications that really work like the $20 muzzel brake and simple things I can do myself to get the biggest bang for the buck.
I have a new ss mini-14 ranch rifle with a BSA 3-10X44 scope. After my initial investment, I would be in big trouble with my wife if I spent another $249 for a gun barrel stabilizer.
So here is my question, can I work on the trigger action myself to improve the smoothness of the action and reduce the pressure to around 3.5 - 4 pounds or is this something that should be left up to the experts?
Any other cheap modifications are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

V V

·
Registered
153 Posts
It all depends on your experience and competence. If you've never stoned a sear in your life there are better weapons to learn on. If you're up to it, great. I would recommend a finished pull weight of not less than 4lbs for a semi-auto. If you do farm the job out, talk to Mike Knifong at NW Sooter Support first thing. He's competent, knowledgeble, prompt, and reasonably priced. I would also look into his gas bushing kits of reduced diameter for the Mini-14. I got the bushing kit and a clean trigger job for $50 including S&H, not bad at all. Here's the address: [email protected]

·
Registered
153 Posts