Perfect Union banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking around here for information on slings with no luck, but I'm not very good at searching.

What do you all like for a sling on your Mini?

I have two, one SS and one blue and I have changed out the sling loops on both to handle quick detachable Uncle Mike's type swivels but I can't decide on a sling. Give me some ideas on what works for you and why.

·
Registered
2,542 Posts
I've actually got 2 different slings for my Mini, which I change out as the mood strikes me...

An Outdoor Connection Super Sling 2+, and an

M1 Garand Canvas Sling.

I like the M1 sling because I can actually sling up tight when I feel like it, using the sling as it's intended, rather than simply a carrying strap. The only downside is that the clip on the buttstock is a pain in the ass -- too loose on QD swivels, so it inevitably comes loose at the most inopportune moment, or makes a ton of noise.

I also like the Super Sling 2, because it can be adjusted quickly and is also sturdy, so I can "hasty sling" up for a quick offhand shot if I need to.

·
Registered
298 Posts
I have Uncle Mike's on my Mini-30 and 10/22. Nothing fancy and they work, They were also inexspensive.

There are lots of option's out there though. 1 Point, 2 Point and 3 Point. Just all depends on your want's and needs.

Check out Blackhawk, Wilderness/Giles, Specter, Uncle Mike's (Michael's Of Oregon). They all make good slings.

I've just made mod's to my Choate stock, so I can setup a 3 point sling. And I think I'll be going with the Wilderness/Giles. Price and build quality is helping me with that decession. For $27 (including quick detach buckel), not too bad.

·
Registered
115 Posts
If anyone has pics of their slings, that would be cool.

I too would like to see some 1, 2, & 3 points slings on those Mini's

Also could a pic or link be posted showing the proper way to use a sling other than as a carry strap.

·