Perfect Union banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i went out to the range 8/21/01(called in sick to work) and shot my mini-14 for the first time with a scope. (bushnell 3x9x40) i did not do any accuracy shooting per say, just to zero the scope but i did alot of plinking with the ranges metal targets. 100 yards was too easy. 200 yards was not as easy but still very very feaseable.
now, 300 yards, that was a challenge but still manageable. i am just getting started with scoped guns and am fairly new to it. i am currently only into shooting at the metal targets for it seems more fun than precisson shooting. i like to hear and see the metal moving after you hit it. i also have a harris bipod on my
mini-i4. i will most likely call in sick this month again so i could go shooting again. (i have a lot of sick days avail.)
take care!
//rmjr//:rapid: :rapid:

·
Registered
42 Posts
I have a small leupold 1.75 x 6 on my mini. I have not shot it a lot but like it so far. I plan to leave it on the rifle. It is a little handy scope that does not weigh much.
ches

·
Registered
5 Posts
hey ches,I recently bought a used mini in s.s.,and was wondering what type mount is best and/or most stable for this little carbine ? Just joined this forum today,Guys,so any help is greatly appreciated.Have found lots of good useableinfo so far. Bill

·
Registered
42 Posts
Forty five HP the only rings for a scope that I know of are the stock Ruger rings which work fine. They have a lug on them that fit in the milled cut on the base that stabilizes for recoil. I bought the 30 mm ruger rings when I bought the propoint sight.
They were not cheap.
ches

·
Registered
5 Posts
ches, thank for your reply and I just knew you were going to say "not cheap" too-dang it !! Probably should've waited to find a ranch mod. Bill

·
Registered
42 Posts