Perfect Union banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I'm new to all this I just shot a ar for the first time yesterday loved it now I want one I've been looking and the ruger 556 is what gets my attention but I have some questions about the accuracy at 100 yards 200 yards extra because i am looking to make this into my varmint rifle and is it possible to put a more accurate barrel on the ruger 556 if it is please any input is welcome

·
Registered
852 Posts
The AR platform is as accurate as you make it. From what I understand the SR556 is a very accurate rifle, but as with any rifle, you have to find the ammo it likes. Some like 55gr, others 62gr etc. From what I have read, you can swap the barrel, but it is a pain with the way they have the transfer pin and handguards affixed. The handguards are proprietary, again from what I have read, and that means that you can't swap them out for any other piston compatible setup if you don't like the Troy handguards. Also, I see that the bolt carrier leaves the firing pin un-shrouded. That is a no-no because then the firing pin is much more likely to break from cycling against the hammer.

My opinion, if you are going for a varmint rifle, I would go with an 18" Mid-length gas system in a heavier profile barrel and assemble it yourself, or purchase the lower and upper separately. This way, you can at least get an upper that you want (or as close to it as you want). I would check out this barrel... Blackhole Weaponry AR-15 18" Mid-Length Stainless Steel 5.56 1:8 Poly Barrel - Surplus Ammo

I have a 16" version of it and it is very accurate. The twist rate allows for greater variety of bullet weights to be used and it comes with a free upper. Plus assembling yourself makes it possible to really get to know your rifle. You can always buy an assembled lower and just build the upper too.