Perfect Union banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
705 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm just getting started with reloading and had a question about cleaning brass.

Purchasing a tumbler/vibrating cleaner isn't in the budget right now, but I do have a small rock tumbler one of my kids got years ago.

Has anyone used one of these to clean brass, or can you think of any reason not to try it?

Thanks

·
Registered
3,368 Posts
I have heard of people using rock tumblers. I see no reason it wouldn't work just as well if not better than some cleaners. I have heard of people using stainless steel media in their rock tumblers to get a real nice looking finished brass.

·
Registered
182 Posts
A rock tumbler will work just fine but they are much slower than a high-speed brass tumbler. Let the brass tumble all night, and in the morning it'll look like new.

Use corn cob (20/40 grit) and a capful of NuShine car polish for better looking brass. The 20/40 grade of cob won't get stuck in the flash holes like larger cob.

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
You can buy a lifetime supply of Crushed Walnut Shells at Petco for $12.

Make sure what ever car polish you use DOES NOT have any ammonia in it. Nu Finish was a specific recommendation for this reason, others may be a problem.

What the Nu finish does is keep the brass looking nice for along time after you tumble it. otherwise it will tarnish over time. The wax prevents this.

Also Deprime and Resize BEFORE you tumble that way you are loading clean cases with no case lube on them. Your reloads will look very nice if you do it this way.