Perfect Union banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got a mini-14 to day and was looking at 10 rd mags.
Why are some of the Ruger Factory mags longer then others??
Which size works better?
Are the M16 mags compatable with a Mini-14?
Heard a lot of complaints about ProMag, which (besides Ruger) companies make good mags?
I don't know nothing, need some help.
John

·
Registered
118 Posts
I'm confused. Where were you looking? In person or on the interweb? Ruger makes 5, 10, 20 and 30 round mags. I've never noticed a difference, although I'm sure they vary from one manufacturer to the next. If you were looking in person, can you please post the price and address of the store? ;-)

The general rule of thumb is that factory mags are best. The opinions on the other brands are mixed at best. Some love 'em, some hate 'em. I have no experience with 10s.

Joe

·
Registered
102 Posts
Longer magazine equals more rounds. Personally I like the Ruger 20 round mag's. Feed reliably and made out of steel. Doubt you'll be able to buy them now. I have a couple of aftermarket 30 round mags, steel too, and they feed good most of them time. Most of the time is ok on the range I guess, but would suck real world. Stay with Ruger if you can find them.

Reb

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
Some mags incorporate anti-jamming followers, which are basically longer to prevent cocking of the follower in use, which can produce jams. Longer followers necessitate longer mag bodies for the same number of rounds, everything else being equal.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
The first link is a 20-round factory mag.

The seller is labeling it a 10-rounder so that eBay won't cancel his listing (and potentially his account). With all the AWB nuttiness, eBay has taken the most conservative (legally, not politically...) approach and is on an AWB-esque rampage.

·
Registered
8,399 Posts