Perfect Union banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been lurking on this board for several months - and largely based on the info I picked up here, I bought my stainless Mini-14 ranch rifle three months ago. So far, I've outfitted it with the John Masen muzzle brake, and a Simmons White Tail Classic 2.5x8/36 scope. And thanks to Cajungeo, I've ordered all the good stuff (including the trigger job) from Mike Knifong.

In addition to being a Newbie to this forum, I'm also new to rifle shooting. So far, I've only shot at an indoor range limited to 25 yards. Five and six shot groups seem to average about 1" to 1-1/2" with an occasional flier caused by the shooter. There's a significant hazard associated with indoor Mini-14 shooting: the ejected rounds slam into the range position dividers and careen around looking for somebody to hit. Last week, I ended up with a circular cut (.223" in diameter) just outboard of my right eye. I finally put my soft rifle case up against the divider to take the case impact. Hopefully, the smaller gas block bushing will take care of this problem. I'm also going to make a case-catcher to cantilever out from the scope mount.

Sorry for the long first post...

Vista

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Welcome aboard Vista,

Thats the only navy talk you will get out of this old soldier.

I'm glad you like your mini-14 but nothing beats shooting in the great outdoors. I was out shooting yesterday at The Fort Dix rod and gun club range with my new Mini-14. It was great fun and I love the rifle.

But being out in the sun and open air is the best way to shoot.
They have a 200 meter range so you can open up a bit But being outside makes it a much better and relaxing experiance. and the brass has room to bounce.

You must still watch out though, my buddy was shooting my mini-30 to my left and I was hit by his brass a few times or should I say steel we were using wolf ammo.

TC

:cannon:

·
Registered
9,786 Posts