Perfect Union banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and need some help. I am loading a 77 hornady v max with 35.9 grains of H4064 in .243. I went to shoot on bench and they don't group all that well. The gun shoots factory ammo sub MOA all day no matter what i feed it. Do I change the powder or the bullet first.

·
hostilenativelibertarian.
7,825 Posts
:lol:You got alot of work to do my friend!You have to see how far the bullet rotating surface is from the lands to get the correct seating depth.You have to set the (coal)combined overall length)of the cartridge to the magazine and the chamber.Find out if you have any signs of adverse chamber pressures.And then begins the powder search!I have been successful in using 4831 in 243-YMMV.Lots of powders out there will work!Then time spent at range-checking various seating depths,and powder charges until you get the desired results.Now when you decide to change casing manufacturer,or primer type-back to the range again!It sounds like you need a reloading mentor.;)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks magnonmark. I know I have a lot to learn. Lol!! I do believe I have the correct seating depth. I'm not sure how to check pressure but primers are not deformed or black. Was wondering if changing powder up or down would change impact enough or if I should go ahead and change powders all together. Correction/ 75 gr Hornady vmax with 35.9gr of Imr 4064/

·
Registered
98 Posts
"I am new to reloading and need some help. I am loading a 77 hornady v max with 35.9 grains of H4064 in .243."