Perfect Union banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to firearms and am planning on buying my first semi auto centerfire, my favorite design aesthetically is the M1/M14/Mini14(30) style. I however do not like the ammunition prices for 30-06 and .308, so the obvious choice is the mini 14 or 30. So far i like the mini 30 for the extra recoil (call me crazy, but i enjoy a bit of recoil) and cheaper ammo over the mini 14, as well as the fact i could use it for a deer gun (i hope,) and i had a couple questions about the rifle.

1. Will S&B surplus steel cased berdan primed ammo shoot reliably (I assume it should be fairly accurate for surplus since the new mini 30 bores are .310) in it, and if not is there any modification that can be done to make it.

2. Is the rifle capable of shooting 2-3 inch groups at 100 yards with the surplus (or with higher quality ammunition) if accurized, and if so how much would the modifications cost?

From browsing online i was looking at installing the hogue stock and a AMEGAScout2 scout mount, then running it with EOtech XPS2 i have, and a one point sling. Are there any non aesthetic modifications i should look at doing if/when i purchase a mini 30?

·
Banned
2,250 Posts
Check out the tips and trick section above. There is a lot of good info there on how to improve the accuracy of the Mini.

1. Will S&B surplus steel cased berdan primed ammo shoot reliably (I assume it should be fairly accurate for surplus since the new mini 30 bores are .310) in it, and if not is there any modification that can be done to make it.
Maybe, maybe not. Some have no problems getting the cheap surplus ammo to shoot, others are not so lucky. One problem with the surplus ammo is the Berdan primer, it's hard and tuff and as been known to take out a firing pin or two.

2. Is the rifle capable of shooting 2-3 inch groups at 100 yards with the surplus (or with higher quality ammunition) if accurized,