Perfect Union banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm new to talking on this BB, but I've read just about all the posts regarding mini's that I could see. You guys are a lot of smart and inventive fellows, with a huge willingness to help and direct a person to whatever resource they may be asking about!!!
I had a little trouble getting signed up, probabely because of the weekend, but now that I'm here, I've got a question about a project, and I want and need your help, suggestions (keep 'em clean) and opinions on it.
Project is: rebarreling a mini-30 (Ranch/stainless/wood) to the 6BR caliber.
Why? I love my mini's (I also have a mini-14, ranch/stainless/synthetic). I am a hunter, not a bench rester but I do put a lot of lead into the target range's backstop. It's primary purpose will be to hunt deer, but could be used for coyotes as well. We run deer and coyotes with hounds, so you can see the benefits of the mini. I like the similar balistics to the Winchester .243. The 7.62x39 does suffice for deer, but it's so ordinary! I'm also a bit of a speed demon. I like everything I have to go as fast as it can. (I'm going to rebarrel the mini-14 to a .17 Remington). My smithy has done a mini in .22BR, so he says all I need is the stones to go for it. What do you think???

·
Registered
535 Posts
why not 300WSM? Hell, go for it all!!!!!!

·
Registered
291 Posts
It sounds like a neat conversion but the problem would be finding 6mm brass for it unless you can make your own. ASI in Colorodo can do this conversion and install a nice accurate barrel.

·
Registered
9,786 Posts