Perfect Union banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I am new to gunsmithing, and especially Mini 14's. So far, I looooove my 196 series. I haven't done anything to it yet, but I would like to do everything that Z Man did, except I want to put a bullbarrel on it instead of shortening the factory barrel. I don't know much about gunsmithing right now, so I was wondering what it meant to "bed" a rifle, and how I could do it myself. I like to work on my things myself, for the satesfaction of it and so I know that it's done to my standards. IF you would please give me some info I would GREATLY appreciate it. THANKS

·
Registered
9,786 Posts
Hey Hyper. First a couple of tips on getting posts on your questions. When you have a fresh subject such as yours, it is better to begin a new thread, so it will show up on the thread index, for all to see. If you attach a fresh subject onto someone elses thread your post may be over looked. So I broke off your post to form a new thread for you. Now to take a stab, at answering some of your questions.

I really admire people willing to take on new skills, and want to do it themselves, instead of hiring someone to do for them. As far as gunsmithing goes, many of us have: Modified: barrels, stocks, trigger groups, gas system, recoil, magazines. Installed: Muzzle brakes, barrel shrouds, scope mounts, bipod/adaptors. Even develope, and reload our own ammo. A real "Gunsmith" is who we take our guns too when we need a job that requires a high degree of knowledge, skill, or tools. The best tool you can have for learning about "light gunsmithing" is the Search button in your upper right control panel. Just enter key words, and all related posts will come up with your key words in RED