Perfect Union banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to bolt action weapons and for my first one I was thinking of finding a Mosin Nagant. I love the look, and even had a chance to hold one myself (never fired one) and I can't find anything I dislike about the gun. Thats why I'm posting here :D What do you guys think about this for a first bolt action? Anyone else have one that would like to give me their opinion? Thanks for the replies guys :D

·
Registered
590 Posts
I have a91-30, They are built like a tank, most have a heavy trigger pull,and they are long. Most are quite accurate and the war time ones are crudely manufactured, they were made in a hurry,for a range toy they are ok I like to collect old military rifles and that is the reason I have one. There are more modern rifles,that are better suited for hunting and target work. One thing about the Mosin is they are cheap and cheap to feed.

·
Registered
652 Posts
It's a very simple, reliable and rugged design which simple and inexperienced people conscripted into the Soviet army could use and not be likely to make fail in most conditions.

If you want a reliable and inexpensive rifle that shoots a powerful, inexpensive and readily available round, the MN would be the way to go at this point.

I chose to start stocking-up on Mausers when they were as cheap as MN's and the ammo was on a par for price. I like the Mauser action and the 8MM round much better but you'll be unlikely to find anything as cheap as the MN's right now.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Mosin

I think if you can handle the recoil the Mosin is a great starter rifle. Ammo is extremely cheap so you can do a lot of shooting. They can also be surprisingly accurate. Plus if you decide to do any accurizing it's not a tragedy if you try it yourself.