Perfect Union banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The topic of Mini 30 reinforcement brackets came up in another thread. A member posted that Numrich had the old 189 series brackets in stock. I didn't hesitate a second on placing an order. I've been chasing a 189 bracket for a few years. Numrich has not had them in stock in either blue or stainless for ages.

I have my 30 Tactical set up in a 189 series wood stock. Tactical add ons such as the Pic rail for a light and the QD sling cup attachments for the Vickers sling. Metal "headcracker" butt plate also added. That stock is in very good shape but has been refinished. Doesn't matter as I have modified it to fit my desires.

A number of years back I scored a mint 189 series stock from 40NASCAR. Couldn't find any 189 series Mini 30 stock hardware any place so I used that hardware on the Tactical stock setup and NASCARS stock had been sitting naked. I wanted to get it serviceable. A couple years ago I saw ASI had the stock reinforcement brackets in stock so I ordered one. Upon receiving I noticed it was "different" than the old 189 series.

The support brackets on the assembly is reversed. The metal is much thicker and installation places the bracket face too far inboard. The action will fit into the stock and lock but the mag will not insert. Darn.....NOT going to modify this stock in an attempt to make things work. Especially when I don't know if they will work. Back into the squirrel pile and the "hunt" continues for the correct bracket.

Fast forward to present. I got my 189 series bracket from Numrich the other day. As advertised in being "CORRECT". I installed it this morning. Action inserts and the mags insert into the rifle. Done deal. The mint stock is in working order. I'll store it away for a time that it may be needed.