Perfect Union banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hi everyone I Am newto this thread but have used different threads for a while <_< anyway... I have been shooting firearms for 6 or 7 years, and of course like most I started with a .22 I think I was about nine, maybe ten when I was Given my first gun.

And well basicly every year I step it up more and more, and my collection (or if you want to troll and say I can't legallyhave any guns because im not 18 you are wrong, you can own guns, just not possess them, which i don't they are in a safe that my dad has the key/code for) has grown to a fair amount of firearms.

but there are Several things that I am missing and really want to get ahold of, 1.) a Mini 14, or a remington R1 1911.

what would you guys get, they are both great guns to my knowledge and both will have great uses for me ( I am really in to hunting and my current primary firearm i a remington 700 BDL in 30-06, and my secondary is well nothing, I have several .357/.38s that I coud use, but i just don), so the Mini 14 would be a good gun to replace my 700 (don't get me wrong that 700 amazing for deer and such.

For hogs i need a rifle that if i need quick follow up shots i can get them, and with th 700 you just can't) but the remington 1911 would be a great secondary firearm. im puzzled :blink: what do you guys think :sniper:

·
Premium Member
1,714 Posts
If your only rifle is the remington model 700, I would buy a mini-14

I have a remington 1911 R1, took it out shooting 2 weeks ago, and it gave me a stovepipe.

Overall, I am not happy with how the R1 is preforming.

·
Registered
437 Posts
You already have competent centerfire handguns available to you, so the 1911 doesn't fill any role other than having a 1911 (which everyone should eventually have). And, as Kevin already pointed out, there are better 1911 choices than the Remington.