Perfect Union banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I owned a new mini 14 for three days. The gun shop sent it back to Ruger for repairs, as most of the brass was being dented upon ejection. Factory repair to the bolt ejector did little to stop the denting. Is this typical for mini 14s? I was hoping to handload. I am new to autoloaders and am not sure what to expect. Please help.

·
Registered
91 Posts
The Mini will dent you're brass as will most autoloaders.
A smaller gas bushing will most likley lessen it, as the force ejecting the shell will be much less. There are a bunch of threads detailing this modification here in the Mini-14 forums.
As for handloading Ruger advises against it but from what I've read on this sight a lot of people do it with good results.
Hope this helps.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The size of dent varies wildy. Some are deep (several mm across), some only small circiular indentions and about 10% are unmarked. I would guess this is related to the variation in ejection direction. I am pleased to finally have an answer. Thanks guys. I do believe I will like it here.:D

·
Registered
540 Posts
Hey Ghost -
Check out our rants on "Slide Handle Markings"
The dents are caused by the hump on the op rod.
That's why there's usally brass marking on the hump.
:ar15:

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I have been blessed with three sons and their eye sight is better then mine. Boy do they enjoy the Mini experience!:usa:

·
Registered
716 Posts
Originally posted by Ghost
The size of dent varies wildy. Some are deep (several mm across), some only small circiular indentions and about 10% are unmarked. I would guess this is related to the variation in ejection direction. I am pleased to finally have an answer. Thanks guys. I do believe I will like it here.:D