Perfect Union banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this post and have a friend that owns a M-14 with selector lock manufactured by H & R. Is it legal to own this weapon? At gun shows I have been told that as long as you don't try to sell the gun or shoot it full auto its not illegal and you can bring it to gun shows as long as it has a selector lock. Also on the internet, I located a couple of cases where M-14 owners went to prison for trying to sell M-14s. Other people have told me its illegal to own an M-14 since they were never issued by the military and its worth 10 years in the pen if you have one in your possession. Do any of you guys know what the real deal is on this?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Dear Sir,

I sounds like you have a machinegun. The M-14 was never made for civilian sale and unless it is registered with the ATF on the National Firearms Register as a legal machine gun then you could have some problems.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info. I don't own an M-14 as I learned enough from my internet research to realize it is illegal. I was frankly surprised at the ignorance of the dealers at gun shows as every one I talked to had a different answer as to the legality of owning a M-14. I thought to get a FFL you had to pass a test on such matters? I shoot the M1A with a friend who used an M-14 in Vietnam and loved the weapon. He said it saved his life once when he was a Marine Forward Air controller on the ground and was overrun by the VC. He said he preferred the M-14 to the M-16 because of its knockdown power.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Georgia14,
A friend loaned me his "Accurizing the M14" paperback. It was written by an Army armory professional with over 20 years experience. It was over 90 pages of first-hand knowledge, with pictures and lots of "inside" information.