Perfect Union banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All this talk of realoading for shotgun got me thinking, do they make the Lee Loader in .410? Or do I need to find one used? If anyone has one for sale I'd love to buy it from them!

I'm teaching my little guys and they can handle the .410 more easily, but ammo for .410 is durned EXPENSIVE and I want to start reloading for it. I'm new to reloading, myself--haven't taken the plunge yet but am "dipping my toes in."

thanks!

· Registered
1,250 Posts
You will have to find a used Lee .410 tool on Ebay. nice ones go dear! be prepared to spend $100+.

One thing you should know is that .410's are the hardest shotgun shells to reload well, and a hand tool is the worst way to do it. A 12 ga. hand tool is very difficult to get good loads out of, a .410 tool only compounds the problems 10x.

If you plan on loading these hulls I suggest you find a used MEC .410 machine or a Pacific. You might have to spend the $100 but at least you will turn out good looking ammo.

Been down this road and spent money on the hand tools. They suck!

It's all about the crimp and you really need a fixed machine to do it consistently.

At $12.50 a box from a NON Gouging source like Walmart, if you plan on shooting very much you have to reload these. Save all hulls!

I shoot skeet with my Browning Citori O/U in .410 and the first thing I did was to buy a 410 machine, in my case a Pacific DL266 (Cadillac) for $200, and 1000 once fired hulls, and start making ammo.

This maybe be more than you want to spend but the good news is you can resell the tools easily and get top dollar if you want to move on.

A good source for all things shotgun related, and for that matter gun related in general, is Trapshooters.com.

This is where I got my gun, my loader, and the empty hulls. And I got good deals on everything. It ain't like Ebay where you have to compete, You just have to say I'll take it and contact the guy selling.