Perfect Union banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 581 series stainless mini 14 that has maybe a few hundred rounds through it. Where the bolt pushes the hammer back I've noticed a rolling of the metal on the bottom of the bolt. My questions are; is this normal, is it ok or do i need to polish or reform the metal to fit where it hits the bolt. I'm a novice gunsmith but a quilified mechanic so I'm not afraid of the work but I'm not a fan of extra work. At the very least I would like to knock off the burr.

Thanks all in advance.

Attachments

·
Registered
91 Posts
All my Mini-14's have the same wear marks. Except my original 180 series from 1976.
I think my 180 series bolt is a much harder steel and does not show the same wear marks even with too many rounds to count through it.. Maybe machined. Anyhow the marks you show are normal?

·
Registered
494 Posts
Both my 580 Mini-14s have done this - one blue, the other stainless. I used a file to remove the raised burrs and called it good. I am hoping that the bolt shape will change to the point where this no longer happens and that some work hardening takes place.

It does suggest the bolt is soft, or that the contact area is a little too small for the load.

I would be concerned if the burrs grew to the point of jamming the firing pin or looked like they might break off and cause a jam.

I put a dab of grease in this area of the bolt to help the parts smooth rather than chew each other.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Had a new stainless 581 that had the same wear, same place. Sent it back to Ruger. The receipt that came back said the bolt had been polished by their gunsmith but it was normal wear and not an issue. Didn't like that so I sold the rifle.

Found a new stainless 580 a few months ago. Several hundred rounds and there is no wear to the bolt. Different heat treat lots..???

·
Registered
1,117 Posts