Perfect Union banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
on a few questions I am having while learning to reload. I wish I had someone to show me the ropes but I don't. I have been reading and studying and I think I am getting close to actually starting. I am a watchmaker by trade so I appreciate details. Question one is how do I decide what powder I wish to use in my .223 rounds? I am a target shooter and I have 500 62gr bullets and several hundred once fired brass in .223.

My next question is possibly flawed as I am not sure I completely understand the idea. I understand the length of a shell in my rifle has an ideal length. How do I measure that length? Do I measure a once fired round?

I understand that some brass has "military primers" and it is necessary to address the primer hole before trying to reprime. How exactly is this done? How do you recognize military brass from other brass?

·
Registered
592 Posts
Military brass has crimped in place primers, the crimp ring has to be removed before you can reprime them, there are a couple of ways to do this, one is a reamer designed for the task, or a swedging tool, both willwork, I use a reamer.
There are a number of powders that work well, I have used 748 Winchester and am now using Hogdon H335. Tou can get data from the Hogdon web site.

·
Registered
209 Posts