Perfect Union banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

Im just starting to shoot, I'm looking to buy a good rifle to shoot at long range, something easy because I'm a beginner but would still be good as I get better.
Not to worry about the price. Also something that looks pretty cool:p

·
Registered
1,398 Posts
1) Define long range (to you)
2) What are you planning to shoot at that range (paper or hair)
3) Just how serious are you
4) What is your realistic budget? Entry level for top end glass is $1200 (Nightforce), plus 20MOA bases (figure $100+) and rings (another $50+)

Just starting out, buy a used target grade 22lr bolt action, mount a decent scope (something in the $300-500 range) on it and once your shooting small groups at 100yd, and have learned to read the wind, move back to 200yd.

Below is my new LR deer plinker, just so you'll know I have a clue about the topic

·
Registered
184 Posts
Mastery of ballistics is the name of the game. Pick something chambered for an affordable round, and also prepare to reload. Stay away from exotic calibers until you earn your stripes.

Savage has some very nicely priced bolt guns. I would shop for one in .308 Winchester. That will allow you to work 500-750 yards, with 1000 yards possible in good conditions.

·
Registered
147 Posts
$400 for a scope on a .22lr, huh? :) oh jesus. Look guys, there is more variation in wind and range-drop (with a target velocity .22lr) than there is in group size, with any thing that is realistically attributable to the scope. :) That's funny

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Mastery of ballistics is the name of the game. Pick something chambered for an affordable round, and also prepare to reload. Stay away from exotic calibers until you earn your stripes.

Savage has some very nicely priced bolt guns. I would shop for one in .308 Winchester. That will allow you to work 500-750 yards, with 1000 yards possible in good conditions.