Perfect Union banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all! This is my first time visiting PerfectUnion.com and after reading numerous posts here, I feel like I would be pretty damn comfortable having a :beer: with just about anyone of the members!

I picked up my first mini-14 a few days ago for $500.oo and am worried I got ripped off after seeing forsale posts here for $425.oo. Here's a pic of the little gun:

It is serial #184-7xxxx. I know very little about mini-14's, and I've been reading these forums and I hear of several different models, such as the "ranch" and "SS". Can anyone tell me what model I have?

I can see no real way of attaching optics or red-dots(such as an EOTECH) to the weapon. The standard sights are really quite poor and I would prefer a non-ramping front sight with a smaller diameter peep at the rear.

I took the little gun out shooting yesterday and I love it! The thing is impossible to jam. It came with a couple of 40 rounders and a 20 rounder. I shot a 300rnd battle back of South African FMJ's and not a single failure. Only reservation is the fairly light barrel gets lightning hot after just a few rounds. I found myself getting touched a few times and would like a good barrel shroud to protect the interior of my truck as well as my fat fingers.

The safety mechanism seems overly tough to operate, but I don't dare remove the trigger group without a little help. Can anyone recommend some online resources to familiarize myself with this little gun? Seems like there is a wealth of information for my AR, but not a whole lot for the mini-14, but I really haven't looked all that hard.

I'd love to hear the "necessities" of owning a mini-14.

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
217 Posts