Perfect Union banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to target shooting, and I'd like to have a bolt action rifle. I was looking at the Savage 93R17, but after looking at them at Cabelas I'm not so sure that's the way I want to go. I also like the look of Savage's model 25 varminter rifle, but I haven't had a chance to look at one.

What would you guys recommend as a good bolt action rifle for target shooting in the $800 range that's not too expensive to shoot? I'm open to all suggestions rimfire and centerfire alike, however I don't particularly like composite stocks and would prefer a wooden stock.

·
Registered
6,122 Posts
Another good suggestion would be the Remington Varmint 700 with the 26" barrel. Same action/barrel as the more expensive 700 police sniper but way cheaper, should be able to get it for around $500. Then buy some good glass and save some dough to buy a decent stock like a McMillan or H&S.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That looks like a nice rifle, but they're definitely at the top end of my budget. I'll keep them in mind.

·
Registered
411 Posts
That looks like a nice rifle, but they're definitely at the top end of my budget. I'll keep them in mind.
True they are running at about 1000 bucks but if a 200 dollar difference is your deciding factor perhaps you should wait until buying a new gun isn't a financial burden.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It's not a burden so much as it cutting into what I'll have left over for a scope. I'm about to get a $1200 check from some work that I've been doing for McGraw-Hill over the last two months, and I'm wanting to buy a new rifle with it. If I could keep the rifle in the $700-$800 range, that'll leave somewhere between $400 and $500 for a scope. A $1000 rifle means cheap glass, if any, until I can save up some more money.

I still haven't decided exactly what I want, but it's either going to be a bolt-action or an AR15.