Perfect Union banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried a shok-buffer on the front of their mini-14 ranch rifle? I installed one on the rear and what a difference! The clang went away and perceived recoil as well! Now I want to install one on the front, but it looks like it might upset the cycling. Worse, the next round might not seat well.

Anyhow, I'm tempted to squirt a little RTV around the front gas block, just enough for the weight to bounce on.

But hey, I'm an engineer, not an artist, dammit!

Has anyone tried something remotely similar?

:sniper:

No Longer Involved
Moved to the correct forum (it was in Garands?):confused:

Registered
There is a lot of movement of the slide left after the bolt is locked. I dont think adding an 1/8" thick buffer to the gas block is going to hurt anything. Just have to try it out, see if it effects accuracy.
However there is a write up by Harris (use to work for Ruger) and he states that the forward movement of the slide should be stopped by the bolt not the gas block. In other words there should be a small gap between the slide and the gas block. It seems to me that having the bolt stop the slide would put unnecessary stress on the slide handle.

No Longer Involved
Not at all!

The Mini-14 is based on the M1 and M14 action.

The op-rod in a Garand has NOTHING to keep it from going forward, except for its sliding connection to the receiver and bolt! The bolt stops in the barrel, and the op-rod is stopped by the bolt.

If you do it the other way around, you risk failing to have the bolt close all the way. The oprod MUST push the bolt all the way home before continuing on to stop.

The Garand design is VERY robust, and the Mini-14 inherits much of its reliability directly from its grandfather the M1, and its daddy the M14.

Registered