Perfect Union banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys got a question for ya. So I don't reload, but I have been saving brass for about the last 4 years. I currently have 3 5-gallon buckets full of 9mm, .45acp, .357mag, .380acp, 10mm auto, .223/5.56, .308 winchester, and 45/70. I am not ready to undertake reloading yet, but I would like to start getting my brass sorted, cleaned, and polished. I would like some advice on how to more easily sort it rather than going thru it one by one. Is there a better method? Also what would I need besides a tumbler and media to clean the brass up? Im thinking my budget for sorting and cleaning this brass is around $200-250 for the gear. Any equipment recomendations would also be appreciated. Thanks in advance guys!!

PS I may be interested in selling some of this brass after I get it cleaned up so if I do ill post it on here at some good prices.

·
Registered
3,378 Posts
You can wash the brass with formula 409 or something similar and water. With the primers in the brass, they will hold water so you have to make sure they are drained well. After washing I simply tumble them for a couple of hours and then bag them up for future use. Water, formula 409 and a bucket don't cost much. Get a good tumbler. Pick a supplier and look at the reviews on tumblers before making a decision. Prior to tumbling you might want to get some gallon coffee containers or smaller buckets to sort the brass. kwg

·
Registered
80 Posts
I deprime all my brass first with the small rcbs press, dedicated to just depriming. Then I tumble them in a water solution with birchwood-casey case cleaner. You must deprime before using a cleaner like B-C because cleaner will get trapped and can cause corrosion. Rinse real good and spread them out on a towel in the sun to dry. Then sort one at a time by hand..

·
Registered
437 Posts