Perfect Union banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question regarding bedding.

If I go to Gundoc he will do an excellent job bedding the mini.

If I go to Accuracy Systems they too will do an excellent job bedding it.

My question is this however.

Accuracy Systems does a three point bedding job. Is this a better way to bed the mini? To see what I am referring to go to this page and scroll down just a bit http://www.ruger-mini-14-firearms.com/mini_14_30_accessories.php

Or does it really matter?

·
Registered
140 Posts
Other people may chime in here, but I'm not sure it has really been determined which method works better. You can probably find both advantages and disadvantages with each method. And, as an engineer I'm not sure I could come up with a reasonable (in time and price) non-destructive way of testing/comparing the two methods to determine a preference.

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
Glass bedding needs to be redone several times over the life of a rifle. The wood eventually starts compressing, so you need to rebed. This happens a lot with M1As that have to get rebedded every 2-3000 rounds. The Accuracy Systems is more money up front, but you won't need to do anything again unless you screw up the pillars the screws go into.

Jim

·
Registered
140 Posts
Glass bedding needs to be redone several times over the life of a rifle. The wood eventually starts compressing, so you need to rebed. This happens a lot with M1As that have to get rebedded every 2-3000 rounds. The Accuracy Systems is more money up front, but you won't need to do anything again unless you screw up the pillars the screws go into.

Jim