Perfect Union banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been cleaning rifles for more years than I care to admit, but I just ran into something I've never seen before and hope one of you may have.

I normally use Hoppes #9 for cleaning out powder residue, and Shooters Choice for scrubbing out the lead and copper. I then swab the barrel and the rest of the gun with CLP for rust prevention. I recently decided to try MPro 7 since my wife keeps complaining about the smell of the other "junk" (her term....;) ).

Last weekend I was cleaning my Mini-14, SS, (195 Series), and had already gotten much of the powder residue out of it. Then I sprayed the MPro 7 in the barrel and decided to let it sit while I ate dinner to soften the lead buildup per the instructions. Dumb ol' me got busy after dinner and forgot about the gun in the shop for a couple of days. I've never done this before, but this time I did....what can I say. Anyway, I went down last night to finish cleaning the gun and my first dozen patches through the barrel literally had a rust color on them! I then scrubbed the barrel with Shooters Choice and a brush, then patches again, etc. When I went back to MPro 7 to finish cleaning, the patches came out dark gray for awhile and then finally fairly clean. I put then put a couple patches of CLP through which came out pretty clean. On a whim, I ran a patch with MPro 7 back in and it came out dark again.....? So I started over and kept getting dark patches with MPro 7, but not the others.

Is MPro 7 that good that it gets stuff that the others don't, or am I seeing some sort of chemical reaction?

Any ideas or suggestions?

·
Registered
540 Posts
I know break free has teflon in it that will coat your barrel. Maybe that's it? :confused:
Have you tried soaking the barrel in Shooter Choice for an hour or so? I use Butch's Bore Shine and you can leave that stuff in there for a week without damage. Then you really know its clean.