Perfect Union banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Both from Brownells. Cost the same. One requires some baking - a trivial effort.
Which one is more durable?

I want to paint some or all visible parts of my stainless mini black. Should I? Especially the barrel?

V.

·
Registered
300 Posts
Ouch, paint a ss gun black? Why? I'd have to assume you just don't like the silver look, or want a non-reflective surface? You might consider buying a second blued mini and having it parkerized. That would be much more durable than paint, though I have no experience with the paint you mention.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've ordered an Ultimak which is black. It does not cover the slide rod, so I thought it would look much better black.

Second, I've got Mini as a survival rifle - that's why it is stainless. I do not really like bright colored guns. So I was thinking of painting the visible surfaces of the receiver and the bolt in addition to the handle.

Third, I'd like to paint the lower gas block half (the upper part is replaced by Ultimak), the barrel and the muzzle brake.

Raf painted his gun with Aluma Hyde - and promised to post the results and he seemed to like it on the mags but I wonder how it olds on the barrel.

Raf, are you there? How did it come out?

V.

·
Registered
581 Posts
I've used the Alumahyde II on my Ishapore Enfield. It is very slow drying. Don't handle it for at least two days.

I would go with the baking enamel if you have a oven it will fit in.

Dennis Jenkins

Originally posted by fastang50
Ouch, paint a ss gun black? Why? I'd have to assume you just don't like the silver look, or want a non-reflective surface? You might consider buying a second blued mini and having it parkerized. That would be much more durable than paint, though I have no experience with the paint you mention.

·
Registered
567 Posts