Perfect Union banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting clays for a few years now with my Winchester 1300, which I love, but i'm generally not real experienced with shotguns. I have been considering buying an semi-auto as of recently. Im looking for something affordable (less than $800) that I can get deeper into the clay sports with, but I dont want garbage. What are your thoughts, advice, or recommendations?

·
Registered
1,398 Posts
If your going to get serious about shooting clays, you need to reload your ammo (at least until your good enough for Win/Fed/Rem to give you your ammo for free).
You never need more than 2 shots, except for standard trap which is a single shell game.
Self loaders like to spew hulls all over the place. Yes, you can fit a shell catcher, but that also turns your auto-loader into a single shot.
Most clubs don't allow you to pick up your hulls (IE: once they hit the ground, they belong to the club).
Some games almost require a different choke for each shot (sporting clays, doubles trap, 5-stand), with some (SC) often requiring a choke change between stations.
Bottom line, there's a reason the majority of comp clays shooters use a break open action. Single barrel on std trap, stack barrels on all the rest.
Less expensive guns don't (usually) hold up to the usage level of a clay shooter (a entry level clay shooter puts more rounds through his gun in a week, than a hunter does in a lifetime). My wife was a hobby clay shooter (skeet only) and she averaged 8 boxes of 12ga a week for over 5 years (10,000+ rounds/year) while a serious shooter will go through about 250 rounds (1 case) per DAY on the practice field, more during a competition (or about 100,000 rounds/year).

Bottom line, spend a little more up front and start with a new/used mid grade O/U from Browning, Peratizi, Beretta, etc and save yourself a ton of cash in the long run.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·