Perfect Union banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys there is not much posting here yet so lets see if we can get something happening. Anyway who loads 45 acp with what and how. I am currently loading 4.5 grns of Titegroup behind a 200 grn. lswc and am very plesed with it. Boon:sniper:

·
Registered
21 Posts
I am just getting started at this and here's what I am shooting and reloading with.
1- 45 ACP
2- Shooting it in a 1928 Thompson submachine gun and a Colt C.C.O. pistol and a W.W. II officers pistol.
3- loads: star bullet 230 gr. FMJ with Winchester primers and 5.2 gr of HP-38 powder.
4- I am using a Lee Progressive 1000 loader.
I have found that if you tumble them in corncob and then deprime and clean again with walnut shells, they look like brand new brass.
Like I said, just getting started and have only got the first 6 rounds for testing. Haven't had the chance to shoot yet but will let you know when I do. Any hints will always help.

Thanks,
Mike

·
Registered
2,555 Posts
I've been loading 10.4 grains of AA #5 pushing a 185 grain Speer Gold Dot. Pretty devasting.

:sniper:

·
Registered
17 Posts
I'm using 5.5 gr. of W231 behind a 230gr. hardball. This works just fine for me. I've also used 5.25 gr. of it with 200 gr. LSWC's, and that worked very well too.

Amy

Reactions: Bepe

·
Registered
27 Posts
I'm still building my bench out in the garage -- but I am planning on loading .45 ACP to get started!

I got the following components to start with:
Powder: Unique
Bullets: Rem Golden Saber 230 HP and Rem FMJ 230

I got the press (3 of 'em, actually), dies, primers, brass ..... just lacking the workspace. :rolleyes:

Anyone have any input on Unique in this caliber? I went with it because it looked to be versatile in use for a few other calibers that I'm interested in loading for.

·
Registered
5 Posts