Perfect Union banner
34K views 33 replies 20 participants last post by  COBrien 
#1 ·
Gentlemen,

I am new to the world of Mini-14s, just purchased my 581 all-weather .223 a week ago. I have been looking into scout rails and I am wondering what a good one to get is.

Does anyone have a Amega rail on their Mini-14? This one is the nicest looking one and I like the ability to mount a tactical flashlight on the side. Is there even a chance putting this rail or any other scout rail will effect reliability of the rifle?

So input on scout rails, photos of your rifles with scout rails, all very appreciated! :D

#4 ·
I have one for sale right now with the Aimtech. I have mounted it for about a year and a half. NOt sure if I like it or not. You have to look through a window to get your sights. Easy to mount though and you can put alot of stuff on it.

I am trending towards going back to irons for most applicaitons.

#5 ·
I have the Amega Ranges Mini Scout Mount rail on my Mini-14. I mount a scout scope or a red dot on it, depending on what I'm doing.

I chose this option because I do not have a Ranch Rifle, and therefore no integrated scope options on the receiver. I did not want to use a B-square type mount that replaces the bolt stop cover plate.

It is a well-made piece, and does not adversely affect the performance or reliability of my rifle.

If you take your time and purchase an extra set of gas block screws, you shouldn't have any problems with the gas system when you install it.

Attachments

#6 ·
geigersd- Thanks for the input. Looks like a nice set up! I know you don't have to be a rocket scientist to install the scout rail, but the thought of tampering with the gas block of a brand new $750 dollar rifle is a bit intimidating.

Still undecided...

#7 ·