Perfect Union banner
10K views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  jeepster09 
#1 ·
I'm sure this topic has been beat to death a few times before, but i'm new to the mini-14 & the site. I've found a few see thru mounts but I would like some of your inputs on wich ones are the best for a 581 series. 2 that seemed to stand out are the B-square see thru rail model#14507, & The country Shed model MNT-214. I also liked the design of the Weaver see thru rings model#49723 but i heard they block the rear sight on the 581 series. Thanks for any feedback.

#2 ·
I have a B-Square rail as well, it works very well, but any time you need to remove the bolt you have to remone it. It is held on by 4 seperate clamps with screws it can be a pain to align. I used RED LocTite on one side (left) and purple on the other side that way my alignment stays put, but after several monthe I went back to the B-Square side mount, it works alot easier for me and hold zero when I remove it and put it back on, I also dont have to take it off the pull the bolt.

#3 ·
Amrhein,

How easy are the iron sights to use with the side mount from b-square installed?

I want to be able to go from scope to iron sights without transition. I tried see-thru rings, they worked but they impeeded vision just enough to make iron sight shooting difficult, and I heard (as did the original poster) that the see-thru mount from b-sqare does not work with 581 minis.

Is the "see under" side mount really good, or would I be better off with a scout mount from ultimak and quick release rings?

#4 ·
Amrhein,

How easy are the iron sights to use with the side mount from b-square installed?

I want to be able to go from scope to iron sights without transition. I tried see-thru rings, they worked but they impeeded vision just enough to make iron sight shooting difficult, and I heard (as did the original poster) that the see-thru mount from b-sqare does not work with 581 minis.