Shooting range fun - Shooting Sports Forum

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Lone Gunman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2017, 20:13   #1
Registered Member

Shooting range fun

I'm new to the AR platform and have a .223 that I wanna start shooting more. I'm used to sighting my hunting rifles in on paper but feel like shooting the AR at paper could get old quick so looking for ways to have fun with the AR at the range, more so for solo shooting but any and all suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!
Cshurleylt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 04:04   #2
Draw, Varmint!

Ain't nothing wrong with paper! Besides unless you own your own shooting range you're stuck with shooting at approved targets only; and THAT is, almost always, paper!

One of the things I do in order to keep rifle shooting interesting is to fire a round onto my (almost always) paper target; and, then, I'll try to group all of the rest of my shots into, around, and as close as possible to the first bullet hole on the target.

Depending upon the range rules you might also try your hand at firing ACCURATE multiple shots. I like to shoot doubles and triples in order to see just how tight I can keep the group. When I've got the space — one of the ranges I regularly use reaches out to 300 yards — I'll keep firing at smaller and smaller targets that are increasingly farther and farther away.

Every now and then range management will install 12 and 18 inch square steel targets out on the range. Metal targets that, even from 300 yards away, you can still hear go, 'Ka-Gong!' every time they're hit. That's fun, too!

With all that you've still got to learn about important marksmanship skills like: breath control, trigger stroke and let-off, and controlled, carefully coordinated, muzzle movement then — if you're genuinely serious about REAL rifle shooting — you should be far from being anywhere even near bored.