Reloading This forum section is about general reloading questions. If you have a specific question about reloading, please post it in one of these forum sections - Rifles, Handguns, Shotguns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 09:28   #1
Survival Nerd
Points: 688, Level: 13 Points: 688, Level: 13 Points: 688, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Last Achievements

Basic Reloading List of Materials for Beginer

I've been shooting for many years now and would like to continue to do so. However with the expense of ammo these days, I need to getting into reloading if I am to continue.

I have absolutely no experience. Shopping around on Midway.com I find myself completely lost as to what tools, books, and supplies I will need.

I would like to (re)load the following calibers:
  • 9mm Luger
  • .45 ACP
  • 5.56 NATO

Can you veteran loaders please give a total noob like me a list of basic "must-have" tools etc.?

Here is what I've found while researching, is this the right list or can some of it be left out? Should something else be added?
  • Reloading Press (Single stage)
  • Die Set for each caliber (will I need 2, 3, or 4 piece die sets?)
  • Impact Bullet Puller
  • Scales
  • Powder Measure
  • Powder Funnel (does this come with the press?)
  • Case length Gage
  • Reloading Manual
  • Tumbler
  • Tumbler media
  • Media separator
  • Chamfer and Deburring Tool
  • Reloading Trays
  • Bullets (for each caliber)
  • Primers (what type? and are they the same for all the calibers I want to load?)
  • Brass Casings
  • Black Power
TechPrepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 12:00   #2
Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53
Activity: 5.5% Activity: 5.5% Activity: 5.5%
Last Achievements

You will need these items
1 A press of some sort, tay away from the cheap hand presses, buy a good O type.
Some will say turret, some like Progressive, I like Dillon, but they are not cheap