LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2012, 20:03   #1
Registered Member
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Activity: 1.4% Activity: 1.4% Activity: 1.4%

Tactical Pistol Training

Good evening gents. I am looking for recommendations for pistol shooting courses. Mainly I have NO experience in real pistol shooting besides watching youtube training videos. I haven't been trained or critique in it. I have a 45 ACP and I really need to learn how to properly use it.

Can anyone recommend a good course that is really just teaching the solid fundamentals? I do not want to get into SWAT movement and all the good jazz when I do not have the proper shooting grip.

Some things I really would like.
The course to be 2-4 days long because if I have to travel I'd like to get as much training as I can.
The course done by a very creditable teacher. Someone who has been around and not only is talented himself but makes great student shooters as well.

The school to have multiple courses for basic, intermediate, advanced, etc.

In my experience, different teachers teach different ways so if I learn fundamentals from one instructor and practice practice practice, then go and perform what I was taught and be told my fundamentals are wrong then not only do I have to break habits, I wasted money and time.

If I go to a course that teaches basics then I can come home and while saving up for the more advanced courses I can practice the basics a lot here. If you guys understand what I'm getting at.

Thanks
Kevin

PS: I copy-pasted this from your sister site Survival Boards, since this has a lot more firearms talk (Seems like it anyway.) I thought this would be a better place to get some good advice. Kevin
Kevin3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:56   #2
Points: 3,745, Level: 38 Points: 3,745, Level: 38 Points: 3,745, Level: 38
Activity: 25.4% Activity: 25.4% Activity: 25.4%
Last Achievements