Handgun Misc All handguns that don't fit elsewhere!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2009, 09:38   #1
Points: 3,936, Level: 39 Points: 3,936, Level: 39 Points: 3,936, Level: 39
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Last Achievements

How to aim/sight a handgun

I'm relatively new to this, so I want to start without developing bad habits. I've been told that you aim handguns with both eyes open and fixate on your target, then bring the sights in. I've also heard to close one eye and focus and aim with your dominant eye. I read the AR article last month about how to be a better handgun shooter, but it didn't mention at all how to take aim. Thought I could get some insight from some old timers.

BTW I sucked yesterday at a charity bowling pin shoot.
Mad Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 15:57   #2
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Last Achievements

The first method you mentioned sounds like point shooting; the second, more traditional.

You'll find strong adherents of both, and many variations, combinations, and even alternatives.

The key is practice. Figure out what works better for you. It's never the same for any two people.

A good shooting class will do wonders, but some adhere to a particular method to the exclusion of others.

Practice drawing slowly to get on target, and over time you'll build speed with the muscle memory you've developed. Consider when you first started driving. Inserting and turning the key was probably slow and awkward, but over time, I'll bet you now do it flawlessly and hardly think about it.

Once you've developed some muscle memory, you can test it out for speed on the cheap. Get an airsoft/BB pistol with proportions and sights similar, if not identical, to your real one's, and practice at paper plates. It'll make your real shots a lot more effective without having to cut your teeth with more expensive real ammo.
Joe Garibaldi is offline   Reply With Quote