PDA

View Full Version : eBay Mag Scam ?


sticks
03-22-2005, 03:03
I noticed a listing on eBay which just doesn't seem right to me.

(I have all the mags I need, & have no plans to purchase more.)

It appears to me, this seller is NOT selling actual mags, but information as to where the bidder can purchase Ruger Mini-14 factory mags.
He even mentions that there is "obviously no shipping" charge.

However, there are numerous people bidding as if they think they will receive mags if they are one of the high bidders. Case in point, they are bidding on quanties as high as 5. (This listing shows a Quantity of 10 available.) If this auction is only for information, there would be no reason for a single bidder to bid for more than a quantity of 1.
Additionally, they are placing bids as high as $32.50 each; again, as if they think they are bidding on actual mags.

Am I mistaken about this auction, or are these bidders very confused as to what they expect to receive ?

Here is the listing: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7142731982&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1)

If this auction is as I assume; the seller has not actually misrepresented what is up for bid, but has worded the listing in such a way, that bidders might blow through the description without fully comprehending what it is that they are reading.

Anyway . . . whatever . . .

:unsure:


Apparently the high bidder has retracted his/her bid, which consequently resulted in a downward adjustment of most of the remaining bids. Hence, the high bid is now only $15.99.

And in response to treedawg's reply, I agree, I should have chosen a word other than "scam"; for it is an inaccurate description of the listing. :(

Sniper
03-22-2005, 03:56
I think you're absolutely correct. The auction is for information to contact a distributor, not the actual mags. Some have bids for 5. Goes to show, Read The Instructions!!! :lol:

:sniper:

treedawg
03-22-2005, 08:40
It doesn't look like a scam to me, but it is underhanded. For it to be considered a scam the winning bidder wouldn't get what he paid for but that won't be the case with this auction. The seller is quite clear in the description and it's the sellers responsibility to check the details.

TD

cowboy117
03-22-2005, 09:35
It looks to me that he will send a link to ''cals sporting armory'' which has Ruger LEO 20's for$35.72 each or %10 off if you order 10 or more.Also,on Egay,he lists that there are 10 available.Not very ethical business practice,IMHO,but[probably] legal.Agree with Snipers post above: READ INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!!! Remember what P.T.Barnum said. :usa: :sniper:

surbat6
03-22-2005, 09:53
ROFL! That seller is going to have a bunch of really annoyed buyers! Apparently Ebay has carefully read his description, otherwise they'd have pulled the auction (mags of more than 10 round capacity are verboten on Ebay). I have to go back to that seller and read his feedback. Not exactly a scam, just a very carefully-worded description intended to mislead the unwary (IMO).

surbat6
03-22-2005, 10:01
I just read the seller's feedback - he scored 60 feedbacks with a 100% positive rating, no neutrals, no negatives. Of course, up to the present he seems to have been selling actual merchandise.

crusaderdrake
03-22-2005, 10:19
Maybe I'm just jaded, but this seems to me to be perfectly acceptable. At no point does he ever say he's selling magazines and makes it perfectly clear he's selling contact information. Since information can be owned by more than one person, he's running a Dutch auction so that more than one bidder can get the information.

If people can't read and comprehend, it's not this guy's fault. Nor was it PT Barnum's fault that scores of folks flocked to see the magnificent egress.

Nobody
03-22-2005, 12:33
How hilarious! He's probably going to tell them about Cal's Sporting Armory, judging from the prices he quotes.

papa1
03-22-2005, 19:17
I saw that and figured the same thing you guys have. I don't think very much if it either.

papa1

NWO
03-22-2005, 19:40
Always, Always, Always read everything carefully!

His auction is legal enough since he does state that it is for INFOMATION leading towards an actual purchase, but it seems kind of misleading to me. It makes one think that they are bidding on actual factory magazines.

Excitement, BID, WIN, then disappointment. Not good at all.

surbat6
03-22-2005, 21:06
Getting paid $15+ for an email listing an address to the place that sells the mags is hilarious (Crusader, that's an excellent reference to Barnum's "Egress" ROFL!). The potential entertainment value of this auction won't match the Ebay Wedding Dress Guy, but it will be fun to follow the reactions of the "successful" bidders.

Drakejake
03-23-2005, 07:49
Unless the seller is actually offering Mini 14 mags, the ad is highly fraudulent. At several points it is stated or implied that he is selling Mini 14 mags. The contradictory information given near the end of the ad doesn't sanitize the presumably false statements made in other places in the listing.

Drakejake

crusaderdrake
03-23-2005, 08:16
Well, if anyone is really bothered by it, they could click on the bidder's list and send a private messsage to each one of the bidders.

papa1
03-23-2005, 13:00
Originally posted by crusaderdrake@Mar 23 2005, 07:16 AM
Well, if anyone is really bothered by it, they could click on the bidder's list and send a private messsage to each one of the bidders.
Yeah, crusaderdrake, you're right. And I thought about doing that, but what good would it do? The guy that placed the ad already has their promise to pay. If I talk them out of paying him for the information, then they're no better for not paying him than he is for scamming them. Just my thoughts.

papa1

sticks
03-23-2005, 14:49
Another bidder has retracted his bid, which once again has resulted in a downward adjustment of most of the remaining bids. The high bid is now only $10.50.
_________________________

I emailed the seller concerning this auction, just to see what his reply might be.

Here is my question & his reply:

"What exactly are you selling? Are you selling actual magazines or just the internet address of a company which is selling these magazines?"

"Please understand the auction. Ebay prohibits such items, but occasionally the are sucsessfully sold....for rediculous prices. All I'm offering is a place to buy them with out getting ripped off. I paid for this information when I started doing buisness, and this seems to be a good way to pass along a pretty good deal. I've bought from this supplier, mags are brand new Ruger factory production, 20 round capacity, blued steel. Bulk discount is for 10 or more. You will not be held to anything if you're not interested."

<_<

papa1
03-23-2005, 15:52
Originally posted by sticks@Mar 23 2005, 01:49 PM
Bulk discount is for 10 or more.
Well, now we know for sure that it's Cal's URL he's giving up for cash. I hope I don't know the guy. I don't want to be associated with him.

papa1

Sniper
03-23-2005, 17:27
Most people don't read something carefully unless you call their attention to it. If you were just skimming through the words you could be easily misled into thinking it's for magazines, not contact info to purchase magazines.


:sniper:

cajungeo
03-23-2005, 18:00
Kinda reminds me of our math class in high school. the teacher gave us a test, and said read it carefully. The first line said "Read this test in it's entirety, before answering any questions".

1) Your first name is_______
etc, etc
29) Twelve times eleven minus one equals_____
30) Disreguard questions 1 thru 29 sign your name and turn this test in.

Only me and one other guy got it right. People just hurry thru reading with little comprehension.

The shame is you can get that info here and much more for free. :lol:

crusaderdrake
03-23-2005, 19:54
Originally posted by papa1@Mar 23 2005, 12:00 PM
If I talk them out of paying him for the information, then they're no better for not paying him than he is for scamming them. Just my thoughts.

papa1
Nah, they can always retract their bid.