Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By magnomark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 22:47   #1
Points: 2,015, Level: 27 Points: 2,015, Level: 27 Points: 2,015, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Last Achievements

New to ARs and now hooked.

I'm new to AR15s but been on the mini14 forum for awhile and shooting for 20yrs. The mini forum help me get my 581 shooting 2-3moa after doing some cheaper thinga but I couldnt see going as far as changing out barrels to get to 1moa like I was wanting. I had been avoiding ar15s cause the pistol grip always threw me off in the store. I took the plunge a week ago and had a Rock River Arms varmint 16" transfered to my local gun shop as they couldnt get what i wanted anytime soon. It came with hogue forearm, hogue pistol grip, bead blasted barrel, and there operator stock I think its called. I picked it up thur and last night cleaned it and got my Redfield 4-12x42 scope mounted with some nikon highrise cantilevered mounts and attached a bipod i had. I was able to sneek a few rnds in before heading to the lake(one of the advantages of no neighbors for 2miles and lots of room). Anyway I'm hooked I was shooting an easy 1.25 @ 100yrds mostly me not used to it yet with ultramax 55gr hp. Trigger is very nice and it balances well I think it might even out shoot my tikka .223 bolt with some more use. Now I just need to get some more magazines and put some more rnds through it.
kc81c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 23:43   #2
hostilenativelibertarian.
Points: 24,118, Level: 94 Points: 24,118, Level: 94 Points: 24,118, Level: 94
Activity: 75.5% Activity: 75.5% Activity: 75.5%
Last Achievements

Location: Oragun-still clinging to my religion,guns,and sour mash!
Good that it has a nice trigger-all of mine were stock junk,and rather than try to bubba one I bought the Jard adjustable ones and installed-what a world of difference-triggers break @ under 2 pounds.Now we can talk accuracy!
Oldtimer39 likes this.